Stepan Gzhytskyi National University of Veterinary Medicine and Biotechnology of Lviv
The horse-riding school was founded in 1457. The school specialized in training experienced staff on treatment and care of horses and pets. Subsequently, the horse-riding school expanded and opened new departments.
Veterinary medicine was taught in the newly established Lviv Academy (1661), but it became a classical university department of veterinary medicine only in 1784. Yuri Khmel was the first professor and head of the veterinary department. The Veterinary School was opened in 1881 and received the status of a higher school (academy) with a corresponding increase in staff and funding in 1896. During the interwar period, the gothic building of the Turkuliv-Comello palace passed into ownership of the Academy. Nowadays The Department of Beekeeping is located in this palace.
During the Soviet period the institute was headed by Professors Danylo Vasylenko and Stepan Stoyanovskyi, who tried to promote the Ukrainianization in the educational process. The main building in the style of retrospective academicism was built in 1954–1961 by the project of architect. Mykola Sukoyan.
In 2003 the academy was granted the status of national and renamed to the Stepan Gzhytskyi National University of Veterinary Medicine and Biotechnology of Lviv.